Brain Research, Multiple Intelligences and Technology

Posted on February 23, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

(by Fran Mauney)

When planning lessons and teaching students, I constantly ask myself how these plans will impact student learning.  I study the standards and write them in student friendly terms. I post the “easy to understand” standards on the board and ask an essential question about the lesson. We practice reading the words, then we body map the words (adding motions to help us remember the meaning). This solidifies exactly what we are expected to learn. I create a web and plan activities that  involve the multiple intelligences when designing lessons and I provide time for Reflection at the end of the lesson using Marzano strategies.  So often teachers only recognize the Word Smart or Math Smart students and neglect the other students who are strong in the other intelligences: Nature, Music, Drama, Body, People, and Personal.  I challenge teachers to evaluate their students by examining all the intelligences.  Technology provides students the opportunity to excel in all the intelligences.   Watch students’ eyes light up when you tell them they will create a T-shirt Research project, or record a podcast or comment about a virtual field trip using Voice Thread. It is time for teachers to utilize technology tools that motivate students and enhance learning based on the learning standards. You don’t have to do this alone.  There are many resources available at your fingertips.  Begin by asking colleagues at your school for ideas. Be willing to share ideas with other teachers at your school, district and state.  As educators, we should work together as a team and share our students’ successes with each other. Communicate using blogs and wikis and lead in-services at your grade level meetings, faculty meetings and local conferences.  Teachers are eager to help, if you’ll simply ask.  Here is an excellent model I found while researching this topic: Baltimore City Schools.

I am a member of an incredible list serve that sends me valuable research daily.  I was trained using the Highly Effective Teaching Model and incorporate all the components of that model when I teach. Ask to join their forum and you’ll receive a wealth of valuable information each day.

Here are some excellent resources to help you plan lessons that will meet your students’ needs.  Edutopia: Project Based Learning, Technology Integration, Social and Emotional Learning

Brain Fitness Activiites

4th Grade Nature/Science/Technology Project

Brain Research and Learning

Design a Classroom of the Future

Good luck with your planning and collaboration.  I’d love to hear your success stories and share them with others!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Brain Research, Multiple Intelligences and Technology”

RSS Feed for Technology Thoughts for Teachers Comments RSS Feed

I blove the idea of rewriting the standards in student friendly terms! That is something I strive for in my future planning! I’m also eager to learn more about multiple intelligences! You have wonderful ideas Fran!

Great post! I love voicethread and did some workshops at Bryson Middle last month about Voicethreads. I’m thinking of submitting it for the summer tech conference.

Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

_________________________________
Making Money $150 An Hour

[…] Brain Research, Multiple Intelligences and Technology, Fran Mauney writes, “I study the standards and write them in student friendly terms. I post the […]

I referred to you and this in my blog post! Thank you for such a thought provoking article! http://successfulteaching.blogspot.com/2009/03/you-can-do-it.html


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The School District of Greenville County – Instructional Technology Department

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

