Promethean or SMART???

Posted on July 31, 2007. Filed under: Interactive Whiteboards |

Is your district Promethean or SMART?
by Tim Van Heule

Interactive whiteboards are an exciting addition to many classrooms. These whiteboards capture student attention, can be a behavior modification tool, and increase the level of activity in the classroom.

How do I know this? Because I used the interactive whiteboard in my classroom and saw all of these results. My elementary students loved using the interactive whiteboard on the first day of school all the way through the last day of school. It wasn’t a novelty and they never tired of it…

Which board did I have? The SMART Board 580. Every classroom at my school, Varennes Elementary in Anderson District 5, had a SMART Board in the classroom. We were fortunate and I think our students benefitted tremendously…

But here I am in Greenville County now and we have just begun a district-wide initiative using Promethean Boards…

My favorite question is… “Which do you like better, Promethean or SMART?”

The answer is simple… it is personal preference. Comparing these two is like comparing Coke and Pepsi, Chevy and Ford, Clemson and… well, who can I compare Clemson with???

SMART uses resistive technology while Promethean uses electromagnetic technology. SMART allows the user to use their pen or their finger to manipulate objects while Promethean uses the pen. Both companies have powerful software loaded with activities and features.

When it comes down to it… both companies are out to accomplish the same goals… increasing the level of interactivity and changing the dynamics of the classroom.

So which do I like better? Ask me when you see me…

Technorati Tags:

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Promethean or SMART???”

RSS Feed for Technology Thoughts for Teachers Comments RSS Feed

Neither, I like my Hitachi StarBoard. 🙂
I first began using my Hitachi StarBoard when I participated in the first round of ESD 112’s Sustainable Classroom Grant. Some of the other teachers in the project had SMART or Promethean boards so I’ve seen them all in action, but I still prefer my StarBoard.

Promethean has the best product in my view for a few specific reasons: 1) http://www.prometheanplanet.com – an amazing portal for free content and lesson plans that are rated and state-standard-friendly, 2) my SMARTboard was trashed by my students, but the Promethean Activboard is made out of kryptonite or something and 3) everytime I go to a conference, Promethean has a booth filled with educators from all over the world, while SMART has a booth filled with hungry salespeople. I am branded! Bring me an Activboard!

what an interesting post ! no answer = no interest…

I agree with Patty O’Flynn in the comment
section – I like my Hitachi StarBoard. We
have both the SMART and Promethean, and I just
love the friendliness of the StarBoard.

Hi! I am amit. Could you please give your expert opinion on the following article:

Purchasing an Interactive Whiteboard


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The School District of Greenville County – Instructional Technology Department

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

